Leadership 2018-02-27T16:40:17+00:00

Meet The Leadership

President: Matt KrollWillowsford
Matt Kroll is the land development director for Willowsford, an award-winning new home community in Loudoun County. He has been in the land development business for over 20 years and has managed land acquisition, land entitlement, engineering management, land development and community development in Fairfax, Loudoun and Prince William Counties. Early in his career, Matt worked for a local civil engineering firm while earning a Professional Engineer License. He received his Bachelor of Science degree from Pennsylvania State University in civil engineering. Matt is also past president for NVBIA’s Loudoun Chapter.

1st Vice President: Alicia Skoug, Drees Homes
Alicia Cox Skoug is the Washington, DC-area manager for Drees Homes. She has been in the homebuilding industry for over 20 years. At Drees Homes, she is responsible for all land acquisitions and contract negotiation, market research, product development and management of Design Center processes. She graduated from Clemson University in 1995 with a degree in marketing. She received her MIRM designation from NAHB in 2003, with the help of courses offered through NVBIA. She has served on the Washington Metropolitan Sales & Marketing Council (WMSMC) and NVBIA Membership Committee. She is also a founding member and former co-chair of the Women in the Building Industry Committee (WBI).

Treasurer: Howard Katz, NVR
Howard Katz is the regional market manager for land at NVR. With more than 25 years’ experience in planning and development, he has been involved in all facets of the homebuilding process, including initiating and negotiating new acquisitions, managing the land entitlement and development process, reviewing product sales of direct competitors for market share and target market opportunities as well as sales and construction operational duties. He has participated in the NAHB Senior’s Housing Symposium, lecturing on active-adult infill. Earlier in his career, Howard worked in local government planning, as a planning consultant and for private developers. A native of Maryland, Howard earned both his B.A. in urban and environmental studies and Master of Community Planning degrees from the University of Maryland.

Secretary: Soledad Portilla, Stanley Martin Homes
Soledad Portilla is a Land Acquisition Manager at Stanley Martin Homes. Her responsibilities include new deal sourcing and acquisitions as well as shepherding projects through the development process. Soledad has over 10 years of experience in real estate development and management. She holds an MBA in Real Estate and Finance from The George Washington University and a B.S. in Finance from the San Francisco de Quito University. Soledad is a founding member and former co-chair of the Women in the Building Industry Committee and is also a past president of the Fairfax-Arlington-Alexandria Chapter. She currently serves on the Board for HomeAid Northern Virginia.

Vice President Associates: Melissa Elliott, The Sherwin Williams Company/Duron Paint
Vice President Member Services: Keith ScottT.A.C. Ceramic Tile Co.
Vice President Government Affairs: Andrew Painter, Walsh, Colucci, Lubeley & Walsh PC
Immediate Past President: Brian DavidsonVan Metre Homes
Presidential Appointment: Mark SimmsToll Brothers Inc
Presidential Appointment:  Doug SmithSoil Consultants Engineering Inc

Council Chairs

Custom Builders Council Chair: Rob FisherFisher Custom Homes
Sales & Marketing Council Chair: Debbie RosensteinRosenstein Research Associates, Inc.

Committee Chairs

Future Leaders of the Industry Chair:  Avi SareenTNT Environmental
Real Estate Finance Chair:  Charlie SchulzWells Fargo
Women in the Building Industry President: Carmela PatrickWeber Rector

Chapter Officers

Fairfax-Alexandria-Arlington Chapter President: Shane Murphy, Reed Smith LLP
Fairfax-Alexandria-Arlington Chapter Vice President: TBD

Fauquier Chapter President: John KiernanGolden Rule Builders
Fauquier Chapter Vice President: John WrightBohler Engineering

Loudoun Chapter President: Keith SimpsonBohler Engineering
Loudoun Chapter Vice President: Greg LeygraafToll Brothers Inc

Prince William Chapter President: Bryant CruzadoToll Brothers Inc
Prince William Chapter Vice President: Jason CrismonToll Brothers Inc

Additional Members to the NVBIA Board of Directors

HomeAid Liaison: Warren Ralston, W.C. Ralston Architects LLC

Directors at Large
Doug FahlD.R. Fahl Consulting, LLC
Michael Capretti, Capretti Land Inc.
David Gill, McGuireWoods LLP
Jason Dalley, NVR
Avi Sareen, TNT Environmental Inc.
Audrey Lustre, Silver Spoon Caterers
Charlie Schulz, Wells Fargo
Carmela Patrick, Weber Rector

Active Senior Life Directors
Steven Alloy, Stanley Martin Companies (Past President)
Roy Beckner, SW Rodgers
Jerry BermanM/I Homes (Past President)
David Bomgardner, Walsh, Colucci, Lubeley, & Walsh, PC
Howard Bomstein, The Washington Post
Christopher Brown, christopher consultants, Ltd.
Vince Butler, Butler Brothers Corp. (Past President)
Louis Canonico, christopher consultants, Ltd.
Diane Cox Basheer, Basheer & Edgemoore (Past President)
Brian Davidson, Van Metre Homes (Past President)
Thomas E. Donaldson, SugarOak Corporation (Past President)
Diane DuBois
Rick Entsminger, Elm Street Development (Past President)
Douglas Fahl, D.R. Fahl Consulting, LLC
Gene Frogale, Annandale Millwork & Allied Systems Corp.
Gary Garczynski, National Capital Land & Development (Past President)
Louis V. Genuario, Jr., The Genuario Companies/Wakefield Homes (Past President)
Rick Genuario, The Genuario Companies/Wakefield Homes
David Gill, McGuireWoods LLP
Michael J. Gorman, Oakridge Communities (Past President)
Mark Granville-Smith, Classic Concept Builders, Inc. (Past President)
Karen Hammond, Hammond Agency Inc.
W. Craig Havenner, The Christopher Companies (Past President)
Chip Helme, Thompson Greenspon
Joe Jacobs, Elm Street Development
Paul B. JohnsonCharles P. Johnson and Associates
Michael Jordan, Robert B. Jordan Companies (Past President)
Clark Massie, Tetra Corporation (Past President)
Scott McGeary, Washington Gas
Leon McGlothlin, Quaker Homes, Inc.
Joseph Paciulli,  Paciulli, Simmons & Associates, Ltd.
Scott C. Plein, Equinox Investments, LLC (Past President)
Patrick Rhodes, Jr., The IDI Group Companies (Past President)
James Robinson,  JLR Construction Management
Russell Rosenberger,  Madison Homes, Inc. (Past President)
Deborah Rosenstein, Rosenstein Research Associates, Inc. (Past President)
Mike Sandkuhler, Van Metre Homes
Gary Smerk, Cox Communications of NoVa
John D. Stokely, Cavalier Land Development (Past President)
Mark A. Sucher, Lyons & Sucher Marketing Design Digital
Mark D. Trostle, Willowsford (Past President)
Robert Wilcox, Calvert Luxury Homes (Past President)
J. Truett Young, Stanley Martin Homes (Past President)

NVBIA is a 3-in-1 Membership

Our members are also represented by the HBAV: Home Builders Association of Virginia and the NAHB: National Association of Home Builders, which concentrates on Capitol Hill and federal agencies.